Heart Star Ceremonies - Custom Created * Ceremonies * Celebrations * Events

         Getting Your Marriage License In Virginia

Please Note: The information provided below is a courtesy, it is recommended that you contact the Circuit Court Clerk's office that you wish to obtain your Marriage License to insure that you have all the necessary information and documentation needed prior to your arrival at the courthouse.

Marriage Licenses in Virginia are issued by the Clerk, or his/her deputy, of the Circuit Court of the county or city of which either the bride or groom is a resident.  If neither the bride or the groom are a resident of Virginia, the license may be obtained in any County or City.  In either case the ceremony may be performed elsewhere in the State.  Applicants must, under oath, furnish information, required to complete the marriage record.

For the location of all Circuit Courts in Virginia go to:

http://www.courts.state.va.us/courts/circuit.html

Some Circuit Courts in  Virginia:

City of Fredericksburg                             
City Hall                                                
715 Princess Anne Street                         
P.O. Box 7447                                      
Fredericksburg, VA 22404-7447              
Phone: (540) 372-1066 

King George County
Clerk of Circuit Court
PO Box 105
King George, VA 22485
Phone: 540-775-3322

Louisa County                
Clerk of Circuit Court
PO Box 37
Louisa, VA 23093
540-967-5312

Orange County
Clerk of Circuit Court
PO Box 230
Orange, VA 22960
540-672-4066

Prince William County
Clerk of Circuit Court
9309 Center Ave. , STE 301
Manassas, VA 22110

Spotsylvania County
Clerk of Court
PO Box 96
Spotsylvania, VA 22553
540-582-7090

Stafford County
Clerk of Circuit Court
PO Box 69
Stafford, VA 22554
540-658-8750

Warren County
Clerk of Circuit Court
1 East Main St.
Front Royal, VA 22630
540-635-2435

Westmoreland County
Clerk of Court
PO Box 307
Montross, VA 22520
804-493-0108


Most of the information listed below is Virginia State law, however it can change from county to county.  Please confirm this information by contacting your County Clerk's Office prior to applying for your marriage license.

State of Virginia Application Process
  • License Fee: $30.00.
  • Marriage licenses are issued by the Clerk of the Circuit Court. A couple may go to any circuit court in Virginia to obtain this license.
  • Minimum Age: 16.
    • If a party is 16 or 17 years of age a father, mother or legal guardian must appear with valid photo identification.
    • The Clerk’s Office will provide a special affidavit for the parent’s signature.
  • Waiting Period: None.
  • License Validity: 60 Days.
  • Blood Test: Not Required.
  • Residency: Not Required.
  • Witnesses: There is no statutory requirement that witnesses be present at the marriage ceremony.

Application:
The couple must appear before the Clerk together to obtain a license and be 18 years of age or older. The couple must provide the following:
  • Valid photo identification (a valid driver’s license with picture, passport or military identification)
  • $30 cash or credit card (MasterCard and Visa only with a 4% transaction fee)
  • Their social security number (they do not need to bring their social security card)
  • The full names of each applicant’s parents (including full middle names) as they appear on their birth certificates. (If a parent’s maiden name differs from their current name, the applicant must provide that parent’s full maiden name.)
  • Each party must furnish the required information under oath or affirmation and falsifying any information on a marriage license could subject the parties to prosecution for perjury.


ID Requirement:
  • Driver’s License
  • State issued ID card
  • Military ID
  • Passport
  • Passport Card
  • Permanent Resident Card
  • Foreign Gov’t issued Passport


Waiting Period:
There is no waiting period. You will receive your license immediately, and may get married as soon as the license is issued.


Residency Requirement:
There are none. You do not have to be a previous or current resident of Virginia to obtain a marriage license


Previous Marriages:
The date of your divorce or the date of your spouse’s death must be provided. Bring a certified copy of the divorce decree or death certificate.


Marriage License Fees:
The marriage license fees in Virginia is $30. Some clerks offices accept credit cards with an additional fee. All accept cash.



Proxy Marriages:
No. Proxy marriages are not allowed in Virginia. Both parties must be present.

Officiants in Virginia:
  • A minister of any religious denomination may be authorized by the circuit court to celebrate the rites of matrimony. In order to obtain such authorization, the minister must produce proof of his ordination and regular communion with the religious society of which he is a reputed member. 
  • Marriages between persons belonging to any religious society which has no ordained minister may be solemnized by the persons and in the manner prescribed by and practiced in the society.
  • The minister or other person officiating at the marriage must complete and sign the Marriage Register and the Marriage Return and forward both forms to the clerk of the court who issued the license within five days after the ceremony is performed. The Marriage Return is forwarded by the clerk to the State Division of Vital Records. In addition to the forms to be returned to the clerk, the officiant may also prepare a certificate to be given to the newly married couple.


Witnesses:
There is no statutory requirement that witnesses be present at the marriage ceremony.


License Validity Time:
A Virginia marriage license is valid for 60 days from the date of issue.